ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community  

Go Back   ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community > ADULTS AND ADD/ADHD > Adult Education
Register Blogs FAQ Chat Members List Calendar Donate Gallery Arcade Mark Forums Read

Adult Education This forum is to discuss issues related to ADD and higher education.

Old 08-24-04, 08:05 PM
Jr Member

Add1234 is on a distinguished road
How many of you with ADHD still have trouble studying?

I am 22 years old, diagnosed with ADD roughly a year and a half ago. I've been on Adderall XR for sometime now. I honestly feel that it helps but not tremendously like some people say.

This entire summer I had the chance to study and take my A+ computer hardware/operating system certification.

I studied off and on for the first portion which was the hardware portion. I am already proficient with hardware such as fixing, building and troubleshooting hardware so the exam was sorta easy to me.

Now I have to study hard for this operating system portion and for some unknown reason I've now rescheduled the exam date twice. I was supposed to take it this week Thursday but now reschedule it for two months down the road.

I know that this will help me by elevating my career. Even though I KNOW that this will help me tremendously. Tremendously meaning that it will open up doors of oppurtunity such as jobs that require A+ certification.

I also purchased another book which will help aid in the Microsoft MCDST certification but I haven't even bothered reading it yet.

I KNOW I should read this, I KNOW it will benefit me greatly but I decide to watch tv, go online, read msg boards, etc. I never can just sit there and read a book, even on Adderall, and just soak up everything that I read.

Any advice?
Old 08-25-04, 01:47 PM
Jr Member

Connie is on a distinguished road