ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community  

Go Back   ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community > ADDForums FRONT OFFICE > New Member Introductions
Register Blogs FAQ Chat Members List Calendar Donate Gallery Arcade Mark Forums Read

Old 03-26-11, 08:27 PM

blackbuttoneyes is on a distinguished road
Newbie! Doctoral student with ADD inattentive. Question about writing.

Hello all!

I was recently diagnosed with ADHD inattentive. I am currently a graduate student, working on a PhD in history. I've always struggled with focus and organization, but it wasn't until after I finished my BA that it really started to interfere with my life. I was working admin jobs full time while working on a part time MA, and was constantly called out on failure to pay attention to detail and sloppy mistakes. I always chalked it up to exhaustion, stress, being overworked....

But it wasn't until I quit the job and went back to school full time and encountered the SAME problems that I thought there might be something else at work. In fact, every time I sat down to write a paper, and encountered the same struggles and blocks, I got more and more anxious about my performance, which made things even worse. I started to have such serious doubts about whether I belonged in grad school that I couldn't even approach papers without loads and loads of fear.

Last month, feeling pretty hopeless, I decided to visit a psychiatrist (I had been in the past for depression and anxiety, but had not been on meds for a year or so). I was put back on meds for depression two weeks ago, and next week (after adjusting to the Prozac), I will start on Adderall. I'm nervous, but also excited and hopeful that I might feel normal. I'm also back in therapy, and I think I'm on the right track.