ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community  

Go Back   ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community > ADDForums FRONT OFFICE > New Member Introductions
Register Blogs FAQ Chat Members List Calendar Donate Gallery Arcade Mark Forums Read

Old 05-02-11, 11:52 PM

AniDragon is on a distinguished road
Hey. Newbie here.

Hello, all.

I'm AniDragon, or Riona, from Atlantic Canada. I'm a 25 year old gamer girl who recently moved out on my own, and thus am finding new challenges when it comes to my ADHD.

I was unofficially diagnosed with ADHD (Well, ADD at the time) when I was in the 7th grade. Well, I don't know how "unofficial" it could have been, since they put me on meds for it, but it apparently wasn't in my reccords, so... Yeah. Strange.

Anyway, at the time, I was put on Ritalin, but only for about a week, since it made me REALLY paranoid. So, my parents and I decided that we were going to try it without meds and see what happened. We instead looked up techniques to help me cope, and they worked fairly well throughout the rest of my school life. In college I got officially diagnosed with adult ADHD, but still opted to go without meds. It made college challenging, but impossible, and I managed to get a degree in 3D Graphics under my belt.