ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community  

Go Back   ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community > TREATMENT & MANAGEMENT > Medications > General Medication Discussion
Register Blogs FAQ Chat Members List Calendar Donate Gallery Arcade Mark Forums Read

General Medication Discussion This section is to be used for general medication discussion and other medications not broken out in their own respective forums.

Old 01-20-16, 01:53 PM

jamesb79 is on a distinguished road
Pharmacists Who Won't Fill

I've been on Adderall for 17 years now, but just recently had a pharmacist outright refuse to fill my prescription for me for the first time ever. This was at a CVS pharmacy that I had been filling at for the last 18 months. I walk up to the counter and tell the pharmacist I need this filled. The first thing she does after looking at my prescription is to take her mobile phone out like she is texting somebody. After a couple minutes of this she then tells me "I can't fill this." The reason she gives is that my doctor's office is 5 hours away and she "isn't able" to fill Schedule II substances from "out of town doctors." I then reminded her that I had filled this same prescription from the same doctor, at this exact location every month for the past 18 months (She could have seen this for herself if she had cared enough to look up my records). Her response was that "every pharmacist is different" but that she personally cannot fill a C-2 from an out of town doctor. I then walked across the street to Walgreens and had it filled within 5 minutes with no hassle.

I live in Texas and have been seeing the same doctor for 17 years even though school and career have taken me to different parts of the state. I go back every 3 months for checkups even though it's a 5 hour drive. I trust this doctor and intend to be his patient until he retires.