ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community  

Go Back   ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community > ADULTS AND ADD/ADHD > Non-ADD Partner Support
Register Blogs FAQ Chat Members List Calendar Donate Gallery Arcade Mark Forums Read

Non-ADD Partner Support This is a support forum for non-ADD partners, spouses, and significant others offering feedback from both the ADD and non-ADD perspectives

Old 06-27-18, 01:03 PM

Goldilox73 is on a distinguished road
Newbie hereó ADHD/anger mgmt

Hi, all. I just found this site yesterday, and it did a world of good for me to read.

I’ve been married for 15 yrs and have 2 children. For most of this marriage, H has had a terrible time managing his anger. Outbursts, harsh words, criticism and sarcasm have chipped away at my feelings for him, created unrest in our home, and has left me feeling exhausted.

After our son was diagnosed 3 years ago with ADHD, we started to research what that can look like in adults...and whadd’ya know...it has a name. We now know that what H experiences is called “flooding” which is basically a fancy way of saying he can’t regulate or filter feelings of anger when something triggers him so he goes off like a rocket. The whole “storm” is over in about 20 min for him...but the rest of us are left shaken and livid.